Skip to main content
Writing Reality with Amanda Leigh

Writing Reality with Amanda Leigh

By Amanda Leigh
How do you write a book? What is your process like? How do you finish your first draft? Where do you get your ideas?

My name is Amanda Leigh. I'm a multi-genre author best known for my Beauty of the Dark Series. I also have chronic health conditions, and mental health issues. These are questions I've been getting more, and more. I decided to start this podcast as a platform where I could talk about and answer them. As well as give advice on self publishing, and share my journey. So if you've ever wondered these, or want to hear my journey, be sure to tune into this podcast.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Writing Process, Bad Reviews, Fairytales, Ableism, Invisible Illness and More | A Conversation with Authors and Poets, Jessica VanderWerff and Rebekah Palmer

Writing Reality with Amanda Leigh

Writing Process, Bad Reviews, Fairytales, Ableism, Invisible Illness and More | A Conversation with Authors and Poets, Jessica VanderWerff and Rebekah Palmer

Writing Reality with Amanda Leigh

1x
Happy National Poetry Month: Week One
In celebration of National Poetry Month, I decided to do a daily series on my IGTV and my YouTube!! Reading a poem a day. I compiled them all from the first eleven days here for you, if you want to listen instead of watch. From here on out, for the rest of the month, I will be posting these podcast episodes for the previous week. I hope you enjoy!! Let me know below how you are celebrating National Poetry Month!! Check Out the Series on My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/channel/ AND on my YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLU1Eg3lXTLe55rB2py8IEwpBQIyJ0LPZ- Check Out Jessica's Books Here: https://www.amazon.com/Jessica-VanderWerff/e/B01D94M2RW  Check Out My Books Here: https://www.amazon.com/Amanda-Leigh/e/B00G7466GK Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
31:07
April 11, 2021
Interview with Christina Herrara | Author of Kissing the Wrong Twin
Check out this interview with a friend of mine, Christina Herrara!! She recently published her third book, Kissing the Skater Boy. We talk about everything from favorite books, our writing process, to audiobooks to Stephenie Meyer and Twilight!! Grab a cozy beverage and join us for our chat!!  Check out Christina's accompanying interview over on my blog!! :) Girl with a Pen and a Dream: Interview with Christina Herrara | Author of Kissing the Skater Boy  Christina Herrera has always loved romance. Even as a child she would make up romantic plots with her older sisters as part of her bedtime stories. As she grew up, she remained fascinated by storytelling. When she was nineteen years old, she authored her first book. Ever since then she knew what she wanted to do in life: read, edit, and write down all of her romantic stories. Instagram: @authorchristinaherrera Twitter: @CHerrera122116 Website: https://authorchristinaherrera.blogspot.com/ Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
01:12:57
March 18, 2021
February (and January) Goal Update
I thought it would be fun to do a monthly goal update, so this is my first one. Updating you all on how my goals are going so far, and how they ave gone for the months of January and February. Some are on track, some...not so much, Send me a message on Instagram if you want to let me know how you're doing. I'd love to hear from and support you if I can.  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
11:54
February 27, 2021
My Last Couple of Books Have Ticked a Few People Off |Why This Isn't Bad
Begin Again, and Forbidden, my last two books, have ticked off a few people. Initially, this is rather hard to take in. In today's episode, I talk about why this isn't necessarily a bad thing. And why, it might even be...a good thing.  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
13:02
February 15, 2021
K. Webster and I Talk About Dark Romance, Writing, Editing, A Writer's Brain and Much MORE!! | Interview with K. Webster
This is a super exciting episode for me!! K. Webster is one of my favorite authors, and an amazingly prolific fellow indie author. We chat about everything from writing, chatty characters, our scatterbrained author's brains, our love for Dark Romances, taboo subjects, favorite movies (including Crimson Peak), and so much more!! If you're a fan of K. Webster, want more insight into a writer's process, or want some great tips for getting in your writing time, then this episode is a MUST LISTEN!!  K. Webster's Website: https://www.authorkwebster.com/  Instagram: @authorkwebster  Newsletter: https://www.authorkwebster.com/newsletter/  K. Webster on Eden Books: https://edenbooks.org/vendors/k-webster/  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
01:16:10
February 2, 2021
2020 Goal Review and 2021 Goals!!
Happy New Year!!!!
14:22
January 18, 2021
Writing Process, Bad Reviews, Fairytales, Ableism, Invisible Illness and More | A Conversation with Authors and Poets, Jessica VanderWerff and Rebekah Palmer
Season two premiere!! I am SO EXCITED about this season premiere!! I have two of my closest friends, and fellow authors, on the podcast with me today. We just jump i and talk about so many topics. Bad Reviews, our writing process, fairytales, Ableism, invisible illness, writing a series, and so much more!! So much I can't even remember it all. But there is some good stuff in here. You have GOT to give this one a listen. It's a long one, so grab a cup of tea, sit back, and listen to all the wisdom and the fun in this one!! Jessica's Links: Like A Child: https://www.amazon.com/Like-Child-Collection-Original-Poetry-ebook/dp/B01DQ6UF0O/  With Hopeful Eyes: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073QJDTDF/  Beneath the Willow: https://www.amazon.com/Beneath-Willow-Collection-Poetry-Prose-ebook/dp/B07WKKNZSZ/  Like A Child Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/LikeAChildJV With Hopeful Eyes Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/WithHopefulEyesBook  Rebekah's Links: A Letter to My Friend: https://www.amazon.com/Letter-Friend-Sharing-Learned-Teenager-ebook/dp/B00DYBS3EW/ A Letter to Myself: https://www.amazon.com/Letter-Myself-Speaking-After-Silence-ebook/dp/B01HDOTE5M/ Map of My Heart:https://www.amazon.com/Map-My-Heart-Portrait-Behind-ebook/dp/B07Y3XHDBH/ Instagram: @jupiterreba @cystinosisociety Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WomanofJairus Website/Blog: https://cystinosisociety.wordpress.com/  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
01:51:21
January 4, 2021
Bonus: NaNoWriMo 2020 Wrap Up
A little bonus episode to wrap up how NaNoWriMo 2020 went for me. ... It did not go as planned or hoped.... Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
04:56
December 23, 2020
Talking about ANXIETY, THE STIGMA ON MENTAL ILLNESS, WRITING AND MORE!! Interview with Dana Muwwakkil | Author of The Anxiety Diaries
Join me today for a very special episode!! I have debut author, Dana Muwwakkil, on the podcast today for an interview!! Dana and I have known each other for seventeen years. Join us in this interview to get vulnerable about our mental health and mental illness struggles, hear us go on a tangent about horror movies, talk about our favorite books, the self publishing process, and MORE!!  Check out Dana on her website, Instagram, and buy her book!! The Anxiety Diaries: https://amzn.to/33VIllh Dana's Website: https://www.theanxietydiaries.com/ Follow Dana on Instagram: @doesanyonewritelettersanymore Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
01:14:59
October 14, 2020
All About JOURNALING with Magic Kathi!!
Today I have the amazing Magic Kathi on the podcast!! Kathi and I "met" online about a year ago, and it has been quite a year, hasn't it?? One of the loves we both share is journaling, so when I decided I wanted to do more episodes on journaling in preparation for my upcoming Journal Challenge, I knew I had to get Kathi on the podcast to talk all about journaling together!! If you've been thinking about starting, feel intimidated, or want to start again, this episode will really help you. > https://www.instagram.com/magic_kathi_official/  Listen to Kathi's Podcast, The Magic Kathi Show!! >>  https://anchor.fm/magic-kathi-show Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :)  https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :)  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here  http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Messageon My Podcast!! :)  https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
45:44
October 4, 2020
Question and Answer Session
I did a Question and Answer session on IGTV that I really wanted to share here on the podcast. I finally figured out how to upload it (it was giving me a lot of trouble), so you can listen to it on here. Find out my favorite author, more about my writing process, what gave me the courage to write my first novel, why I write Paranormal, and more!!  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :) >>  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Message!! :) >> https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
41:43
September 30, 2020
My Journaling JOURNEY + JOURNALING Tips
Journaling seems to be one of the day's hot topics. But I think seeing what everyone else is doing can overwhelm us. This may seem counterproductive, but I'm sharing my journey with journaling in this episode. And sharing some tips with you, which probably aren't what you expect to hear. When I started journaling, social media wasn't a thing, so I had nothing to influence the way I journaled, which is how I think is the best way to journal. Tune in, check it out, and stay tuned for my upcoming FREE 7 Day Journal Challenge!! With a corresponding daily podcast episode AND workbook!! Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :) >>  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Message!! :) >> https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
18:17
September 24, 2020
Interview with Aimee Shaye | Author of The Cursed Kingdom Series
Join me in this episode for an interview with Aimee Shaye!! The first interview that I recorded for my podcast. Aimee and I have known each other since 2014 and we had a TON OF FUN doing this interview. We talk about everything from writing, editing, Supernatural, Leonardo DiCaprio, our favorite books, our favorite characters from our books, and lots more in between.  Want to get some insight into a writer's mind? Then definitely check out this podcast!! Buy The Dead Daughter (The Cursed Kingdom, Book 2): http://mybook.to/thedeaddaughterck2  Check out Aimee on Facebook, Instagram, and more: http://linktr.ee/AimeeShaye  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :) >>  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Message!! :) >> https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
01:24:43
September 19, 2020
JOURNALING, MANIFESTATION, AND MORE!! | Interview with Katie Wilkinson - Manifestation Coach
I am SO EXCITED about this episode!! As most of you know, journaling is one of my very favorite things ever. I've been doing it since I was 11 (18 years ado, can you believe that?). So I've had the idea for a 7 Day Journal Challenge for a while. First, though, I knew I wanted to talk more about journaling, AND bring some other people on the podcast who also love to journal.  First up, is Katie Wilinson!! A mindset and manifestation coach. In this episode we talk about her first journal, what her journaling used to be like, how she sees the difference between a journal and a diary, journaling for manifestation, her journaling masterclass happening in two days, and more!! If you're at all interested in journaling OR manifestation, make sure you check THIS episode out!!  Find Katie on Instagram: @katie.wilkinsonn Join Katie's Journaling for Manifestation Masterclass: https://www.katiewilkinson.com.au/journaling-for-masterclass  Check out Katie's FREE Manifestation Masterclass: https://view.flodesk.com/pages/5f3228f7307c1600262009d3 Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :) >>  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Message!! :) >> https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
41:54
September 14, 2020
Reading From My Poetry Collection, Beautiful Broken: Musings of a Bibliophile, Book Two
Back in April, I did a couple of IGTV videos of me reading from my poetry collection, Beautiful Broken. I decided to upload it as a podcast episode to share it with more people. In this episode, I read my poems "What Have You Seen?", "Signs Falling", "Snuffed Out", "Wildfire" and "A World Torn". At the end I also talk about my favorite poets and give some recommendations. Let me know who your favorite poets are in the comments section. I'm always open to new poets!!  Start my Beauty of the Dark Series today! Goodreads: https://bit.ly/ForbiddenTBR *Books MUST be read in order!*: https://amzn.to/2HVcKDA Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check  out our pricing here :) >>  http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Send Me a Voice Message!! :) >> https://anchor.fm/amanda-leigh7/message
08:11
August 30, 2020
Reading From my Upcoming Book, FORBIDDEN: a Beauty of the Dark novella
Today, I'm reading to you from upcoming book, Forbidden: a Beauty of the Dark novella!! :) I'm super excited (and still a little nervous) to share this with you. (I don't think the nerves will ever change.) Forbidden is a prequel to the Beauty of the Dark trilogy but can really be read at any time during it, or you can read it as a stand alone. Today, sit back and listen as I read Chapter One to you. The book officially release on August 16th!! As always, thank you so much for tuning in!!
13:18
August 10, 2020
TALK to Your Characters!!
In today's episode, I meant to talk about a writing misconception, which I did, to an extent. However, I ended up talking about one of the ways I work through blocks when I'm writing. And that is, to talk to my characters. It's actually something I do a lot, and is one of the best ways I've found to work through writing blocks. If you want to hear more about it, listen in and let me know if you do the same thing. :)  Need someone to format your book, or design some teasers for it? Check out some of Leigh Design's work and pricing here >> http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html  Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ 
19:54
August 4, 2020
NaNoWriMo Update
Hi everyone!! This is just a quick bonus episode to let you in on my Camp NaNoWriMo Update. My goal is 7,00 words on a new Beauty of the Dark story. Tune in to see how I did!! And please send me a message on Instagram to let me know how your NaNoWriMo is going!! Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ Want to see some behind the scenes or send me a DM? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/  I also offer book formatting, teaser and cover designs. You can check out our pricing here :) >> http://leighdesignsstudio.weebly.com/services.html  https://nanowrimo.org /
05:32
July 27, 2020
Winning is NOT the Point of NaNoWriMo
In today's episode, I argue that winning NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) isn't the point of it at all. Something that I myself still struggle with. I also give a mindset tip that I use every time I do NaNoWriMo.  I'd like to know: would you like me to do a longer episode with all of my tips for doing NaNoWriMo? If you would, please message me on my Instagram page. It is always linked here. And, as always, thank you so much for listening!! > http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ Want to see some behind the scenes? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/ https://nanowrimo.org/
13:33
July 14, 2020
What is NaNoWriMo?
What is NaNoWriMo? NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. This is just a quick episode for anyone who hasn't heard of it. Where I break down the very basics of NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo, which is starting on July 1st. If you're interested, join in!! I have the NaNoWriMo website linked below. It's a great way to make progress on that writing project you've been working on (or setting aside.) ;)  Thank you SO MUCH for listening!! https://nanowrimo.org/ Check out my Blog Here >> http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/ Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ Want to see some behind the scenes? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/
08:25
July 1, 2020
Just Start - Just WRITE
I have my 13th book releasing this summer, and with that, I've gotten more questions over the last few years about how to write a book. Where do I start? How do I finish a first draft? There are other tips that I could give you, but in this one I rehash my most given piece of advice. Which is to just write, to just start. And I took my own advice with this podcast, and I just started.  Thank you SO MUCH for listening!! > http://girlwithapenandadream.blogspot.com/  Go to my website to check out the books I've published and order signed copies :) >> https://www.authoramandaleigh.com/ Want to see some behind the scenes? Follow me on Instagram >> https://www.instagram.com/amandaleighya/
08:49
June 23, 2020